July Member of the Month-Stephanie Thomas

Coach Abbie
June 26, 2023
July Member of the Month-Stephanie Thomas

Client Success Story Questionnaire  

Name: Stephanie Thomas

Age: 56      

Occupation: Office Manager at Geppetto's Toy Box/Real Estate Paralegal/Bartender at Madison Street Theater

What is your athletic background?  

Ha!! None, whatsoever!  I was in marching band in high school, does that count?

What was your workout routine prior to CF Spero?  

Walking & biking here and there.  But, in my head I did all sorts of exercising & extreme sports, 24/7!

When did you start CrossFit?  

It was at Spero last August when my 15-yr old son and I met with Abbie to see what it was about and what Spero could offer both of us.  It wasn't a good fit for my son, but I decided to give it a try and, here I am!

Why did you choose CF Spero?  

I was looking for a place near my home and this fit the bill -- it's 2 blocks from where I live.  I figured that having my workout so close to home would make it easier for me to get up, go, and get it done! No excuses about it being too inconvenient to get there.

What keeps you coming back?  

The people, absolutely! Both the folks in the classes with me as well as the coaches.  I've always felt very self-conscious, never comfortable about joining an exercise program because I thought I'd be judged on how I looked and what I was doing.  I've never felt that way at Spero.  At first, I was nervous about the prescribed workouts and not being able to do everything but when the scaled option was explained to me, I felt more at ease and now I don't worry so much about it.  There are all sorts of body types and fitness levels and I love that everyone just does what's best for them.  But with the encouragement and support of everyone here, I've been able to slowly improve and it feels great!  Yes, I feel that I have something to prove, but not to anyone else, only to myself.

Why do you live in the Oak Park Area?

I've lived in Oak Park for over 30 years and it's been a wonderful experience! I love the small town feel even though we're just adjacent to the big city. I love the fact that the odds of running into someone I know at any given time is pretty high.  I love that my son is growing up in a diverse community where all walks of life are represented. I love the community of friends that I've created for myself through volunteering at my son's schools as well as being on local boards for several different organizations.

What do you do for a living?  

I feel like my job life can be divided into two distinct parts -- before my son was born and after.  Before he was born, I worked for years as a real estate paralegal in a couple of corporate law firms in Chicago.   After he was born, I stayed home with him for the first 5 years, then started working at Geppetto's Toy Box as the Office Manager, which I'm still doing.  I also still work as a real estate paralegal for a solo practitioner on the north side of Chicago.  And, I recently started bartending at Madison Street Theater.  I'm always looking for something new!!

How do you like to spend your free time?  

Spending time with my son, Eli, of course!  But when he's not with me, I enjoy hanging out with my friends and, in the last 2 years I've really gotten back into reading (mostly romance novels -- I'm a hopeless romantic!).

What are one or two improvements you have seen in your life since starting CF?  

I think I've gained more confidence in myself overall (sort of like, if I can do this, why not try something else).  I'm not as uncomfortable putting myself out there to try new things so that's what I've been doing.

What is the biggest change you have seen since starting CrossFit at Spero? 

I feel stronger, for sure, and I'm improving in my CF movements/exercises.

What are your goals for 2023?  

I want to continue with my 3-4 days per week routine and continue getting stronger, with an overall goal of doing all workouts of next year's CrossFit Open (I was only able to do 1 day this year because I got sick).

What's your favorite and least favorite movement?  

Least favorite is the burpee, no question!  I love the rower!!

What's your favorite meal?  

Ice cream, for breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert!  If that doesn't that constitute a meal, then I'd say pasta with veggies & pesto.

What would you say to someone thinking about starting CrossFit at Spero?  

I would say to definitely give it a try.  It can be intimidating at first (it was for me) but you've got to give it time.  Once you see how the workouts go and begin to feel/hear the encouragement of the people around you, you'll realize how good it feels to get it done!

Anything else you would like to share with the Spero family?  

The Spero family has been great to me.  It makes such a difference to be a part of a small business such as Spero, as the kindness and caring shines through.  THANK YOU to Dave, Liz, all of the coaches and the entire Spero community for all of your constant encouragement and support!

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios