March Member of the Month-Emma Elmiger

Coach Abbie
March 1, 2023
March Member of the Month-Emma Elmiger

Client Success Story Questionnaire  

Name: Emma Elmiger

Age: 24 (25 on March 29)          

Occupation: Research Specialist

What is your athletic background?  

Growing up I did everything: softball, soccer, basketball, swimming, volleyball, lacrosse, floor hockey, cycling and probably more. But I played travel softball for the longest. In college I was on the rowing team at University of Illinois urbana-Champaign. I did 4 years there 2016-2020 and I rowed summers with Lincoln Park Boat Club 2017-2019. Now I’m back rowing full time at LPBC since coming back to OP in October.

What was your workout routine prior to CF Spero?  

In college I woke up everyday at 4am for practice. I rowed more days than I attended classes in college. Once Covid hit and my rowing was ended abruptly, I would cycle about 100miles a week. 6months before starting CF I had ankle surgery to repair some ligaments I had torn years prior. So I was workout less for months before starting CF.

What was your first experience with CrossFit?  

Joining CrossFit Torrent in Kalamazoo was my first time doing it. I started that in October 2021 (right after getting the clearance from a long stint of physical therapy).

When did you start CF?  

I wanted to start working out again but I’m really bad at self motivation if I’m alone. I also love having a sport schedule to work around and I thought CF was the best fit. I always had a planned workout done for me and people to workout with. It’s the environment I grew up with and I will always favorite it over a basic gym membership.

Why did you choose CF Spero?  

I picked Spero because it was geographically closest to me after coming back to OP area.

What keeps you coming back?  

Everyone in class and the coaches. I really feel like I’ve found my people. Everyone is beyond nice and kind.

Why do you live in the Oak Park Area?

My family moved to Oak Park when I was 4 and lived here until I left for college in 2016. I am now back after about 6 years and I missed this place. Oak park is honestly the best.

What do you do for a living?  

I am starting a new job as a Research Specialist. I was a researcher for 2 years working on a specialty team that conducted preclinical trials for infusion based medications. My degree is in animal sciences. I even went to South Africa for a month in 2018.

How do you like to spend your free time?  

I go to the movies all the time. I have seen so many movies. The Oscars are my super bowl. I have been an AMC A-Lister since it’s inception. I grew up going to Lake almost every weekend. Oh, and I row most days.

What are one or two improvements you have seen in your life since starting CF?  

I feel so much stronger. I am also more confident in pushing myself to do new things. I can really see how it is affecting my rowing. I was probably peak rowing fit back just as Covid hit but now I’m starting to feel like I am getting back to that endurance with more strength behind my drives.

What is the biggest change you have seen since starting CF?  

How much I can do. I couldn’t even attempts the weights I am able to hit in workouts now.

What are your goals for 2023?  

Get strong and get my long endurance sports back up there. I also really want to hit a pull up eventually.

What's your favorite and least favorite CF movement?  

I LOVE nothing but I really like doing hang power cleans. My least favorite list could go on forever but I think my least favorite since the beginning have been thrusters… so I’m also not the biggest wallball girl either.

What's your favorite meal?  

Johnnies Italian Beef juicy. I could eat that everyday of my life.

What would you say to someone thinking about starting CF?  

Just give it a shot. You don’t need to be able to even lift a bar when you start. Everything is scalable.

Anything else you would like to share with the Spero family?  

I love you guys  <3

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios