May Member of the Month-Kirstin Peters-Whetstone

Coach Abbie
April 29, 2023
May Member of the Month-Kirstin Peters-Whetstone

Client Success Story Questionnaire  

Name: Kirstin Peters-Whetstone

Age: 45      

Occupation: Art Director/Graphic Designer

What is your athletic background?  

Ballet and gymnastics then switched to competitive swimming in high school. I got really into triathlons and long distance endurance running
after I had my second child. I have done 14 marathons, over 35 half marathons, and tons of other races including relays like Ragnar and River to River. I still like to do these races and have two relays with my running group BFF this spring.

What was your workout routine prior to CF Spero?  

Long distance running and I was kind of obsessed with Barre classes before I joined. I was trying to find a better balance of endurance and strength.

What was your first experience with CrossFit?  

I actually came to a bring a friend Saturday and the women’s Wine n WoD event SEVERAL times before I joined. I was super intimidated and too scared to join at first.

When did you start CF?  

I started right when I turned 40… midlife crisis of sorts?

Why did you choose CF Spero?  

My brother in law Scott started CrossFit there first, then my sister Abbie (yes, Coach Abbie) …. And then my husband Mark. They basically left me no choice.

What keeps you coming back?  

Being challenged daily and having so many areas to improve on. There is just so much to CrossFit and its such good motivation to get in there and work hard towards my goals. It’s also really nice being around healthy minded folks as well. The Spero community is welcoming and supportive and no matter where you are in your fitness journey, people are appreciative of others working hard.

Why do you live in the Oak Park Area?

I grew up in Oak Park and live just north in the Galewood area of Chicago. I would probably live in OP if I could, but my husband Mark works for CPS, so Chicago it is. We really do love our area though, over 19 years in our little ranch house. We love the proximity to the city but then also our quiet one way street.

What do you do for a living?  

I have been an Art Director/Designer for over 20 years now. I have worked for many industries including Tech, Beauty, Textiles, Healthcare and now Finance. It’s been a fun ride, but would love to retire soon lol.

How do you like to spend your free time?  

Number one thing definitely is to work out. I have trouble taking rest days but force myself to occasionally. I also love fun family time with my kids (bowling, arcade, movies, zoo, etc) reading, playing stupid games on my phone, and baking. I don’t love to cook, but I do love to bake. My guess is I prefer the end product more.

What are one or two improvements you have seen in your life since starting CF?  

Definitely increased strength… I think I may have had noodle arms previously. I also am more self confident which I think comes along with that increased strength. I think a stronger mind naturally comes along with a stronger body.

What is the biggest change you have seen since starting CF? 

My body type is totally different than it was 5 years ago. I have added so much muscle and am so much stronger than I was before. I didn’t even know where my traps really were before and now they provide a nice little shelf for the barbell during back squats, hahaha.

What are your goals for 2023?  

My favorite thing about CrossFit is that I have so many goals and so many things I want to get better at. I hadn’t even made making Age Group Quarterfinals a goal yet, because I had zero clue I would be close. But I made it this year and it was so cool!! My head is still spinning from that and so I would love to make
it again next year. I know each Open is different so you never know how you are going to fair, but I am extremely grateful for the experience to make it to the next round in 2023! Currently I am concentrating on hand stand work, better chest to bar pull-ups, and stringing more double unders together. I also would eventually love to get a muscle-up and be able to do Isabelle RX.

What's your favorite and least favorite CF movement?  

Favorite: Pull-ups (close second rope climbs)
Least Fav/Worst/Terrible: That Echo bike

What's your favorite meal?  

Basically anything with seafood, especially lobster, crab and shrimp.

What would you say to someone thinking about starting CF?  

I was super intimidated and put it off for too long. If you are thinking about it, you should try it and give it enough time to get more comfortable. All too often there are people who give it like a week. You need at least a few months to actually start feeling like you belong and understand what the heck is happening.

Anything else you would like to share with the Spero family?  

Thank you coaches and friends at Spero for providing such a positive place to be. I can be having the worst day, but once I get into the gym, my perspective is better. It’s hard not to be in a better mindset when you are surrounded by such great people. Thank you all for being a part of this truly awesome community.

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios